Boss Problems, fucking fired.

I had two conversations this morning that prove I may not be the “people person” I should be. Both involving authority type figures, which I’ve had a problem dealing with since high school, (no Mr. Vice Principal, I don’t see a reason to attend my chemistry class, because if I am already setting the curve , and don’t attend then what will happen to the rest of the class’ gpa if I do attend. I’m trying not to fuck up everyone else’s scores, so I would appreciate some slack here. To which he replied, “you are now suspended for three days for speaking to your superiors like that” to which my mother responded once he called her on speed dial (yes my mom was on speed dial in the Vice Principals office) “Are you kidding me? That’s exactly what she wants! You’re playing into her game!!! Now she has three days off” me…har har har), and one ended splendidly, while the other simply ended.

My first incident involved my quasi-boss/partner. Good man. Fair man. Just. I, however, come off a tad uncouth when typing conversations with my thumbs, and because you cannot hear the connotation my words carry, you may think that when I text “I want you to give a fuck”, I am saying it like a whiney bitch, instead of a cool ass gangster. And occasionally my assertive nature and enthusiasm maybe mistaken for aggression. My bad. However this is how things are accomplished in my life, by being abrupt and somewhat confrontational, and after some mid-morning smoothing over, over a cup a joe and a couple cigarettes, quasi-boss/partner and I were laughing away, situation handled, and all awkward conversation set aside. This is because we are both reasonable adults, and competent.

The second incident involves someone who is COMPLETELY incompetent. And not in the “he fucks things up occasionally and I have to deal with it” but in the “he always fucks things up and everyone has to cover for him” way. And because I was already in a slightly agitated mood, the way in which I dealt with him was swift, like Jackie Chan roundhouse kicking someone to the face. I wish I could have roundhouse kicked him to the face. The incident started a couple days ago when he text me the following.

Him: “I need you to come in and resign releases.”

Me: “Why?”

Him: “talk to my boss.” (not bossman though, remember he is no longer a character in my blogs).

I text his boss, at which point all confusion is cleared, and we decide I will come in Thursday to handle the resigning situation. Perfect. Problem solved.

This morning I receive a text from him again, asking when I plan on coming in. To which I reply.

Me: “I’ve already handled this, talk to your fucking boss. If you are just trying to look busy than go and hassle someone else. My situation is dealt with.”

Him: “blahblahblah.”

He didn’t actually say blah blah blah. That is what I heard when I read his thumb message in my head. Until I read this:

Him: “blahblahblah, this is his boss, what is the hassle?”

This is the point in the conversation where I asked his boss why he is texting me through said moron’s phone, and he replied with something along the lines of…. “because I don’t understand your response to him”

I then had to rehash the conversation I had two days prior about the exact same thing where me and boss (who yes, I am now going over our own conversation with) decided I would handle this Thursday.

Where the fuck is the communication here? What the fuck happened? How did we just lose an entire conversation? I mean, THIS has been handled right?

I got no reply. So I told his boss this:

“between you and me, I don’t really care for the guy as I find him incompetent and annoying. He keeps asking me the exact same shit expecting responses to be different. Isn’t that technically the definition of insanity? He did the same shit with a different issue over a month ago, which I blew up about because a bitch can only be asked the same question so many times before she loses her cool, and flips.”

To be quite honest, I didn’t say the whole thing about a bitch flipping out, but I did tell him his assistant is incompetent and annoying, and I no longer wish to deal with him on any basis, let alone a regular one. Which is what I meant earlier when I said the conversation simply ended. What the fuck are you gonna say to that?

Well, one of two things. Either Yes, he is incompetent and he drives me crazy as well, I’m bothered I am constantly having to pick up after his shit fest, or No, he is competent (or appears to be because everyone covers for him) and you will continue dealing with him. The first answer admits that he has been employing someone unworthy of the duckets he doles out, while the second demands that I deal with someone I explicitly expressed I do not want to deal with. There is nothing politically correct that he could have said, because the boss has long suffered from the assistants fuck-ups, and knows where I am coming from, and he will continue to employ him because for some reason the boss is convinced that something positive and productive is coming out of employing him. Well pass some of that productivity my way motherfucker, because everything this guy touches with me is fucked up.

This is why it is good that I have multiple boss figures in my life. So that I can see and understand the differences between a good boss and a bad boss. Not that the second boss is a bad boss, not in anyway, but he is not my boss. He actually works for me, which is why he did not respond. Because there is no right response.

The first boss is a good boss, because he dealt with me in a rational and efficient manner, which helped me to understand the problem on a more fundamental level. When I aggressively told him that I want him to “Give a fuck”, he responded that “that isn’t the way to deal with him.” At which point, I understood that while I didn’t intend upon crossing a line, I had. The manner in which I directed my statement at him was wrong. Not necessarily the statement, but the way in which I said it. This is why he is a good boss. He did not try to punish me for overstepping our boundaries, but he reeled me back, and reminded me that we shouldn’t treat people like we don’t want to be treated. Once again, he is a competent boss.

The second incident involves me as a boss, because technically, the guy who is driving me crazy works for me, by way of working for the boss I had mentioned (who also technically works for me, in partnership with me, and helps me to work). And if I’m tired of dealing with his incompetence, then I should fire him, even if I don’t fire his boss/my partner/boss/employee.  Which is what I did. Just not in a very nice way.

I’ve got to imagine that it doesn’t feel very good to be told you are incompetent through a message typed with thumbs.

Whatever. He’s fucking fired. From my life anyway.

~ by Penny Flame on August 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
